British GM Nigel Short today very slowly squeezed and finally squished GM Ivan Cheparinov like an anaconda devouring a giant river rat, in what had to be the most psychologically satisfying game of his career. Yesterday, Cheparinov refused to shake hands with Short to begin their game in Round 8 of the Corus tournament, whereupon the former World Championship challenger claimed a forfeit based on his understanding of the recent FIDE rule penalizing unsportsmanlike conduct of exactly this type. An appeals committee (which included Vladimir Kramnik) allowed Cheparinov to make up the game if he apologized in writing for the offense, which he did, and the game was replayed today -- after the required handshake. I had sided with Short in the matter, so it was very nice to see him gain the vindication of victory (much like the knights of old).
In the diagram above, find the most fully satisfying win for Short after 69...Nf6+. Replay the complete game at Chessgames.com. Read more about the incident at the links below:
- Short - Cheparinov Live now! from Chessdom
Includes video and annotations (posted live during the game)
- YouTube Video Re: Short+Cheparinov
There are several videos posted regarding the event and commentary.
- Short v Cheparinov: 2.0 at ChessVibes
Amusing video and game replay with extensive commentary.
- Cheparinov Has Apologized at ChessVibes
Commentary on the apology, with video that the site posted to YouTube.
- Taking Shorthand by Mig Greengard
Breaking news and updates, complete with very extensive kibitzing.
- Cheparinov forfeits on handshake, appeals by Steve Giddins at ChessBase
Photos of Short re-enacting the incident, with commentary.
- "Handshakegate" Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 by Dennis Monokroussos
- TWIC News Item #704 by Mark Crowther at TWIC
- A Forfeit over Refusing to Shake Hands? by Dylan Loeb McClain
- You Need Hands at Streatham&Brixton Chess Blog
- Corus Chess 2008 News
The official news site includes several updates regarding the incident.